Our history

The pioneers of Central Bible College are missionaries Ralph and Shirley Hagemeier. In 1973 Ralph Hagemeier due to water problems at Swaswa area where he had a centre for training God’s ministers decided to survey an alternative suitable place along the Dodoma-Kondoa road where he could settle and perpetuate vision to establish an International Institute. He was the fourth missionary to visit Dodoma preceded by Paul Bruton, Bergs, and Morris Plot who was nick named as “Bwana Tembo”.

Rev. Elia Ngobito assisted missionary Hagemeier to survey the area between Mnadani and Msalato, and at the end of their survey they were both attracted to this place where the college is located. Then the missionary purchased cutting tools and asked Rev. Ngobito to clear the bushes. They managed to clear about four acres in their first phase. The missionary built a small hut which Rev. Elia Ngobito and his family lived in order to guard the plot.

Missionary Ralph then traveled to USA for the purpose of mobilizing friends who could support the project with finances, building materials and labor power. When Hagemeier came back in 1974, they continued to expand the plot by clearing 10.7 acres more to make the total size of the plot to be 14.7 acres. The Government gave the plot to missionary Hagemeier free of charge.

The construction of dormitories and classes began between 1977 and 1978. The first ten students of Dodoma International Bible College were enrolled in 1980 and graduated in 1982. The college started with three instructors who were Ralph Hagemeier, Shirley Hagemeier, and Elia Ngobito. We thank God that although the beginning was small and tough, its continuation now is majestic and promising. The college flourishes very well. We return all the glory to God

List of principals since inception

  • Ralph Hagemeier – Principal and founder 1977-1981
  • James Farrer 1982-1983
  • Ken Moeckly 1984-1985
  • Bob McCulley 1985-1987
  • Larry Stevens 1987-1993
  • Gregory Malonga 1993-1996
  • Peter Majule – just for a brief period 1996
  • Dave Thompson 1996-1997
  • Yusuph Mbelwa _____ 1997_1998
  • Ezekiel Mbwilo _______ 1998 – 2002
  • Samwel Mollel ______2002 – 2004
  • Jackson Nyanda _____ 2005- 2005
  • Ezekiel Mbwilo ______ 2005 – 2007
  • Ron Swai ___________ 2007 – 2008
  • Joel Hamuli _________2008 – 2009
  • Jonas Mkoba ________2010 up to date